The Structure of Mitochondria (A-level Biology)

The Structure of Mitochondria

Mitochondrial Structure

Components of a Mitochondrion

  • Most of respiration occurs in the mitochondrion. Three of the four stages of respiration occur in the mitochondrion. These are the link reaction, the Krebs cycle and oxidative phosphorylation.
A-level Biology -The Structure of Mitochondria
A-level Biology -The Structure of Mitochondria
  • The mitochondrion is a complex structure. As we can see, the mitochondrion consists of several parts. These are the inner and outer mitochondrial membranes, cristae, matrix and mitochondrial DNA. 
  • You should know 2 key mitochondrial components. For the purposes of respiration, you should be aware of 2 key parts of a mitochondrion.  These are where respiration take place.
  • The link reaction and Krebs cycle occur in the mitochondrial matrix. The mitochondrial matrix is the site for the link reaction and Krebs cycle.  To start the link reaction, pyruvate molecules enter the mitochondrial matrix via active transport.
  • Oxidative phosphorylation occurs in the inner mitochondrial membrane. The inner mitochondrial membrane is the site for oxidative phosphorylation. It is the place where the electron transport chain (ETC) is found.

Still got a question? Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Post as “Anonymous”